Making IT Happen Award

The Making IT Happen award honors outstanding educators and leaders who demonstrate extraordinary commitment, leadership, courage and persistence in improving digital learning opportunities for students. Since its inception in 1995 more than 600 educators from around the world have received the award.

The spirit of the Making IT Happen award supports our vision of a world in which all learners thrive, achieve and contribute.

Award recipients are educators who:

  • Apply available technology now.
  • Move forward and don't look back.
  • See students as real people.
  • Teach through relationships, inspiring, encouraging and nurturing.
  • Recognize that further change is necessary, but understand that it is a process.
  • Realize that teacher empowerment is the key element to technology integration.
  • Expect success.
  • Motivate through awareness and access to information.


Making IT Happen Award winners at the
ISTE 2018 Awards Celebration Luncheon.


ISTE and its affiliates may present Making IT Happen awards at their annual conferences. The awarding organization chooses its winner(s) and ISTE supplies the award package, including an embroidered Making IT Happen jacket, a pin, a certificate, a one-year Basic ISTE membership and promotional materials.

Request an award package.

For additional information or questions about this outstanding program, please contact us.

2018 Making IT Happen Award Winners Presented by ISTE

Gary Brantley
Gary Brantley

Ana Virginia Quesada
Ana Virginia Quesada

Torrey Trust
Torrey Trust

Justina Nixon-Saintil
Justina Nixon-Saintil

Dr Mitchel Resnick
Dr. Mitchel Resnick

Current Making IT Happen Award Winners

View the entire archive of winners

Jennifer Alexiou-Ray
Yvette Ardoin
Lisa Barry
Lisa Berghoff
Celeste Best
jason bierle
Jeffrey Blackburn
Darcy Browmling
Harold Burchell
Kaylyn Busch
Leanne Cameron
PJ Caposey
Anupam Chugh
Kevin Clark
Jennifer Corn
Jared Covili
Stephen Cullis
Russ Curtis
Kelly Dumont
Aviva Dunsiger
Teresa Foulger
Jeannine Freeman
Kim Garcia
Josh Gauthier
Kim Gill
Mark Giufre
Michelle Gohagon
Duke Harmon
Mary Beth Hengelbrok
Ariel Jankord
Robin Johnson
Jennifer Kelch
Julie King
Joshua Koen
Douglas Konopelko
Nicole Lakusta
Eric Lawson
Tammy Maginity
Aaron Maurer
Kathy McClaskey
Suzanne Mitchell
John Pearce
Janet Powell
Ken Price
Daniel Ralyea
Debra Ramm
Kimberly Ramos
Jonathan Redeker
Clarena Renfrow
Heidi Ringer
Suzanne Sallee
Madison Sandig
Greg Seefeldt
Carmalita Seitz
Cynthia Sistek-Chandler
Mark Suter
Donna Thompson
Maria Turner
David Wicks
Monica Williams
Ami Young